Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03:54 - 19 August 2004
days of old, when knights were bold and toilet paper wasnt invented yet.......
coffee! the life blood of all true sailors!(doesn't the music from the cartoon popeye come to mind?)

well kids, its 3:30 am mountain time!

anutter day, woke up coughing, the air is too thick, or i smoke too much! u pick one. i just read a nice cat story from yarnsmith, it reminded me about charlie the cat, my very 1st cat, from back in the good ole 1960's!

my very 1st memory of charlie was in 1963. i was 4 then, and it was the summer before we lost the greatest president of the 20th century, JFK.

i was 4 and already a menace! hahah

i was watching a cartoon (popeye) when i seen swee pea fell from a window, and godd ole popeye ran down several flights of steps and ran out front just in time to catch swee pea! yay!!!

well, about then, i seen charlie the cat on a window sill, he was a big calico cat and i had my capgun cowboy outfit on, and i snuck up on charlie and BANG! i shot him with my capgun! this was the type of capgun that had a roll of red paper with dots on it and when the hammer hit the dots, it made a bang! it was cool and ya just dont see toys like that anymore.....

anyhoo, the noise of the capgun startled charlie and he leaped out the window! AGGGH! now mind you, we lived inna big house, what is called a brownstone held 6 families, a big square building 3 floors so down i ran with my brother, he was 13, and upon hitting the street, there was charlie, in the middle of the street, washing hisself, while cars slowly went around him!!!! so we scooped up charlie the cat, and went next door to pete's donuts to get a free donut. charlie ate donuts! charlie ate everything you put in front of him! he was a great cat!

when i was old enuff for school, charlie was there to walk me and my brother to school, everyday. charlie would jump out the window on a regular basis daily to get a donut from pete's donuts next door, thats when my brother told me that cats ALWAYS land on their feet! this was a wonderous discovery for me, since now i spent the next several years picking up charlie and tossing him up in the air and squealing in sheer delight watching him do flips and twists and ALWAYS landing on his feet!

one day, about 1967 i figure, ma told me that charlie went to cat heaven, and explained to me what that was, i had no concept of death. it was around the same time that ma's best friend, mrs. black, died, and we had to dress up and go to the wake. i didn't know what a wake was, and i remember asking ma, hey ma, what is this wake? do we go see mrs. black and wake her up and then we can talk to her, then she goes dead again? again i had no concept of death.

in 1968, i seen RFK and MLK get it on tv.this was confusing, because i seen movies where i seen actors play death scenes in one movie and then seen the same actor play anutter role alive and well.....my brother went off to vietnam and died in the tet offensive. we cryed and cryed. in school later on my left wing teacher was spouting off his facist opinons of vietnam after asking us what we knew about vietnam, and i let him have it with both of my 10 or 11 year old barrels! i tore into him like white on rice! HOW DARE HE say anything about our great president, LBJ or our noble effort to free poor people from communism! how much i REALLY had to learn about the world!!! hahahaa

i miss those days, they were fun!

hay boys and girls, goto: http://www.kgo.com and listen to the best radio station in north america on ya computer!

one more thing... HOWDY HOWDY to SASORI-GAL and YARNSMITH,pals of CHAOSDAILY whom is my very best chat pal on yahoo messenger! this has been a screengems/filmways presentation!!!!!wheeeeeeee!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!