Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

08:51 - Tuesday, Jun. 07, 2005
a success, and a true life tale!!!
well, i woke up even later today!! @7:15 am, mountain goat time!
i got 7 hours straight sleep! even ray taliferro on kgo with his rants didnt wake me up!

all is well in the fiduciary department of who did it and ran, ink! american express gave me back my 500 bux! i know i jumped thru all the hoops yeaterday, and my efforts were successful!!

its a cold and grey salt lake morn in the ghetto! hehehee!! looks like its gonna rain like hell!!

a tip of de skullcap, and bow with a flourish to my pal, golf widow! as she designed the sidebar u see here, and gave me some html to put in so the template will not stretch out like play-doh! do they still make play-doh? thanky thanky yous!!! also to my udder pal, cosmic, the wonder gal! for associated assistance with template making!! your contribution to the cause is well appreciated!!!!thanky thanky yous 2u2!!

as the thunder booms this morning, and i sit and spin, and gulp coffee and inhale tobacco, i think of something bright eyed and bushy taled to say here.....hmmmmm

TRUE LIFE TALES! volume 6, issue mcmlvi

(rubber tramp: a homeless person who travels about the country in a car, and lives in the car)

BACK in my rubber tramp days, one memorial day weekend, some time ago, i was itching to leave reno for the umpteenth time, it was check day, and i got my check and cashed it, and looked in the paper for a nice cheap car. i found one over eating the 99 cent breakfast at the cal neva. as it was, it was saturday morning, and i found one, a 1973 t-bird, 300 bux! so after inhaling eating, i called the number listed, and 3 hours later, i was a proud owner of that 73 t-bird! it was a TANK! huge back seat for sleeping, and lotsa trunk space for my junk! as it was, when you buy a car from a private owner in nevada, you dont get a licence plate. you have to goto the dreaded DMV to get them plates! and since this was a saturday, and holiday weekend, the DMV was closed! so, the master plan was to get thy smelly ass outta town, and drive to boise to get cheap plates. at the time, you can get a licence plate sans insurance for about 35 bux from the idaho DMV, so off i went!

as i was on the way outta town, i get pulled over from the reno cops. and the cop sez to me, "ya know why i pulled ya over?" i sez yep, i aint got no licence plate! and then i go on to tell him that i just bought the car and was on the way to DMV to get some plates! (lie) hehehe. so the cop tells me after looking at my bill o' sale, the DMV is not open on saturday! after feinting suprise, he cop tells me that i can put the bill o' sale on the corner of the windshield, and when DMV opens on tuesday, i can get the plates! so, no ticket written, he lets me go on my way.

a few hours later, driving down interstate 80, i get to elko. and just before i hit town, the nevada highway patrol gives me a shake! i tell super trooper the same thing i tole the reno cop, and that i am on my way transporting the car to boise, and that the reno cop tole me all i have to do is put the bill o' sale on the windshield, and i'm good to go! super trooper gives me a ticket for un-registered vehicle anyway, and tells me that when i get my papers on tuesday, i can call the justice court and fax them the paperwork, and they will say fuggetaboutit! so, away i go!! now, at the border of the peoples republic of nevada and the democratic state of idaho, theres a pull-off for folks like me driving about with no plates. so, i go in and show my papers to the nice idaho trooper, and tell him, im going to boise to get plates, and that i plan to park at the truck stop there and wait til tuesday (truth) so, he sez ok, and away i go!

so, tuesday rolls around, and i get my plates, and call the justice court back in elko. i tell the clerk what the super trooper told me, and mind you, i was on my best behaviour on the fone, and the bitch-clerk snot ball sez, "oh no!! thats no good! we want the money!!" so, instantly incensed by this crapola, i sez to her, look, im NOT in nevada, so FUCK YOU!!! and hung up the fone!!

lets roll ahead 5 years later, and see what happens!!!

so, i find myself in lil tiny ely, nevada, on highway 50, the lonelyest highway in america (a proud tall sign states this fact!) hitch-hiking to reno to get my check at the post office, general delivery. so, after a few hours, i get a visit by super trooper, and he asks me what am i doing? (DUH) so i tell him im trying to get to reno, to get my check, and then he asks me if i have any warrents, and i say with confidence, no, i dont! and hand him my nevada licence, so he runs the check, and forgetting what happend 5 years previously, lo, and behold, my immediate presence was demanded by the elko justice court!! so, what do they do? the gimme a 230 mile ride to elko!!

i get to the court on check day, and see the judge, and by now, i recall all that happened, and i tell the judge whats what, and ask her that if super trooper can take me from ely to elko, they can take me from reno to get my check, and i will happily pay the fine, but noooooo, she sez, "WE WANT THE MONEY"!!!!!

after telling her i aint got no money its in reno at the post office, she gives me 5 dollars a day lock-up in the jail til its paid off! 38 days! sheesh!!!

so, after the 38 daze was up, i leave the elko jail, no money, TWO checks a waiting for me in the reno post office, and so, its sunday to boot! i climb up to I-80, and start hitch-hiking to reno! after a while, super trooper comes by, and after i tell the fool that i just got outta jail and that i have no money, and im on the way home to reno to get my money, he asks the million dollar question:

DO YOU HAVE ANY WARRENTS??

now, one of my pet peeves is stupidity, and incompetence! i look at him incredulousy, and say to him, do you listen? i just tole you i just got outta jail; you think that they would RELEASE me if i had any warrents????

BIG UNEASY PAUSE

he gives me back my licence, heads for his car, tells me to be careful, and drives away!!!

well, i made it to reno, got to the post office, got my checks, cashed em, and went on with my life, such as it was!!!

MORAL OF THE STORY!!
pay them tickets!!!!

i know i tole this true tale of woe before, but it was the 1st thing that popped up over coffee this morning!!

hava slap-happy day!!



FACT OF THE DAY
One of the world's most acclaimed architects is born today in 1868. Much of Charles Rennie Mackintosh's work is to be found in the city of Glasgow, in particular his exceptional Glasgow School of Art, one of the finest examples of Art Nouveau architecture in the world.

Cat of the Day:


Cat of the Day


Click to Enlarge!


 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!