Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

17:44 - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
more shit!!! i need toilet paper!!!
and so the shit continues.....

get a load of this email i got, and the reply i sent!

I'm the s**thead Inbox

Jen Marino to me
More options 4:53 pm (47 minutes ago)

Dear Art -
Just to let you know - I'm who contacted the COTD
people. I'm using an old e-mail named after a
character I played in D&D a long, long time ago rather
than my present name and e-mail, because you're
scaring me.

Look, I admit I was drawn to your site by all the
foofarah about JCon, but I'm not a blogger, and I
don't know any of those people personally, and the
only reason I got involved at all, much less "turned
you in", is that plagiarism is a really big deal, not
to be taken lightly. You really, really, really
shouldn't use other people's images or words without
at least crediting them and preferably asking
permission in advance. It's really unkind. So I did an
even more unkind thing and joined the pile-on on you.
It was a shitty thing to do, and I'd apologize in your
comments except your site keeps crashing my browser
(or maybe I'm getting weeded out by some kind of
banning? that's understandable.)

Anyway. You're scaring me, which is fine, because it
sounds like you want to, and I'm not going to be
"watching you" any more. I did let dictionary.com know
you linked to them without credit, so expect scary
e-mail from them, but truly, if I'd been malevolent,
I'd have turned you in to Diaryland. Which I didn't,
and I won't. The good news is that the word-of-the-day
site exists for you to share, if you just credit it
properly - they have both simple HTML cut-and-paste
and complicated RSS feed instructions, and the simple
is really easy to use and gives credit where it's due.

I don't think you'd be this angry if you didn't know
better, morally. I also think you wouldn't be this
angry if you weren't dealing with a pile-on, which I
admit is a shitty, shitty thing for me to have been
any part of. I can't apologize enough for my part in
that, and I will say that I'm done.

I've gone through some of your back entries, and I can
see that you've had a lot to deal with in life. I
understand that this is your diary, and that you feel
violated, but understand, please, that some of the
people who are offended are just like me - people who
don't care to see art and words and photos with the
implied credit going to someone other than the person
or people who created them. It's not really just a
diary - it's out in public, so where in a private
diary you can scrapbook away without sources, in a
online diary you have to name your sources because
otherwise it appears you're the creator.

It does make it all the more meaningful when you do
something you're proud of, though, if everyone knows
it's really yours.

Anyway. Good luck in the future, and I hope my
confession and explanation make you less mad. Either
way, you won't be seeing my IP addy any more (not that
I'm going to tell you what that is, because I, as I
noted, am kind of scared of you, not because of the
swear words but because you said you'd tear my head
off and stuff.)

Take care.
Yours,
The Shithead

__________________________________
Yahoo! Mail - PC Magazine Editors' Choice 2005
http://mail.yahoo.com


ReplyForwardInvite Jen to Gmail


Art caldwell to Jen
More options 5:23 pm (17 minutes ago)

hiya jen,
1st of all im not going to be tearing anyones head off.
i am truly sorry that i scared you, honestly, i am. my bark is worse than its bite.
i am new to this having been here only a lil over a year, and if you were a regular reader of my page, you would know that which all my diaryland pals knows, that the cat of the day is from the cat of the day website. everyone on my diaryland friends list knows that, and since you are not a regular reader you dont know that.
people jump to conclusions and make false accusations of which they know nothing about. as for the story i posted, it was very early in the morning, and i just forgot to list the author. if you have read my archives, you will have seen where i have listed the author of stories that i have posted. people who are regular readers of my page know this.
i am not a plagerist. i do not like being accused of something i didnt do, and if you ar anyone else wants to jump on the "diary police" bandwagon, you all have some severe mental health issues, and i am the one with bi-polar disorder.
all this rigamarole started when i posted how shitty journal con was, and for me it was. i only enjoyed it when i was with my pals. many of my diaryland pals agree with me on how hi school cliquish it is.
again, i sincerly apologise to you for scaring you. all i was doing was venting my anger with mindless words. they mean nothing, because all they are is words, and only mean something when you act on them.
as for dictionary.com and the word of the day, it is in the public domain, and free to use by anyone. i strongly suggest that you get a life and stop being diary police, and when you accuse someone of something, get your facts straight! i did mention that i had made a mistake by posting that story with out saying its from the black table, of which i DO have permission to post some of thier stuff!!! this is what i am talking about when i say get your facts straight. you and others like you are spiteful, hurtful sort, and you get your jollies off by bashing others. grow up, and get out of high school!!!
i do accept you apologie for bashing like you did, and rest assured, i never intended to bash your head in or anything like that. READ THE WORDS SLOWLY AND CAREFULLY: they are only words, and is a method i use to vent my anger!!!!! i DO NOT ACT upon what i write. i am a NON VIOLENT person, and if you knew me you would know that!!!
just for your satisfaction, i wrote to kathy at the cat of the day, and asked for permission to use thier stuff. even though it is in the public domain, and i dont use it for commercial purposes. read the copyright law from wests law library and learn about what public domain means. people falsely believe that if they publish something online, its automatically copywrighted. it is not. the copywright process is a lengthy one.

so, thats all i have to say about things, and consider the matter closed. you can read my page if you like and leave a note in my notes in diaryland. get to know me here like others have done, and you will change your opinion of me. one of the major things you need to do is stop being "diary police". i am no longer angry, but sad that people like you are still out there, messing with people and trying to get people to stop writing because we write the truth. and continue to do so.

_________________________________
Yahoo! Mail - PC Magazine Editors' Choice 2005
http://mail.yahoo.com

--
lippy the lion, and hardee har har!

and then i get this comment:


You have new comments posted to your account. The new ones are listed
below (upto a maximum of 15). To see all new comments, visit
http://www.haloscan.com/members/posts.php

jen fu ([email protected]) wrote the following:
http://www.haloscan.com/comments/acaldwell1958/changes/
You were accused of plagiarism. And you plagiarized. How is that a
false accusation, asshole?


i swear, some peoples children!!!!
thats all folks!!!
i plagerised this from my comments section and email, so spank me, i been a badddddd boyyyyy!!!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!