Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

06:23 - Sunday, Oct. 30, 2005
See What Happens When You Hitchhike?

Image hosted by Photobucket.com


if i learned how to steal in the 60's, i learned how to hitchhike and smoke dope in the 70's!

my parents didnt give 2 shits what i did! or so i thought; what the hell did i know!! as long as i didnt kill any one, hehehe. bad metaphor. anyway, i rode the subways early on in life, by myself. no one questioned, no one cared. as long as i had a dime i can ride the train! and sometimes i didnt have a dime, so i just went under the turnstile. try to do THAT today! hahahaaa!!

i was a skinny lil runt back then, 1969-1970, and one day after joy-riding on the subway, i was walking down the street, and seen these hippies on the interstate on ramp hitchhiking. so, just like curious george, i went over and asked one of them, "heya, what are you doing?"
the answer was "oh, we are hitchhiking to california!!!" so, listening to what hitchhiking was, and seeing how it was done, on this particular day, there was a lot of hippies thumbing on the ramp, and people were stopping to pick people up! try this today! hahaha!!

so, next thing i knew, there i was, thumb in the air, looking for a ride, oblivious to the danger that lurked ahead! and so began my hitchhiking days!

i made it all the way to pennsylvania when trouble lurked ahead. as nightfall began, i was on the interstate, when i got a ride from this guy. he had a bunch of guys with him, and i sat in the front seat, and away we went. someone lit up a joint and passed it around, and i got my 1st taste of reefer, and everyone laughed when i took a toke, and damn near choked to death!!! i was the center of attention, and conversation was about what i was doing out there, hitchhiking, and i made up some crock o'shit about being all alone in the world, and freespirit, etc. blah blah blah...

then this guy lets me off at his exit, and away they went. a few hours went by, and later on the same guy came by and picked me up again. so, down the road we went again, and the conversation soon turned to sex, of which i was oblivious to, and didnt have a clue!

soon, this guy pulls over, and makes a grab for me!!! yipes!! i opened the door, got outta there fast, and made a run for it!! the guy puts his car in reverse, and starts after me!! i hop over the guard rail, and into the woods i go!! woo!! my pants get torn in the process, and after running for a while, i realised that i wasnt being chased any longer, and after a time of hiding and making sure the coast was clear, i went back to the highway. this time, a state trooper came by, and stopped to find out what the hell i was doing on the interstate! so, i told the cop what had happened, and describing the car and what they guy looked like, i got a speech as to how lucky i was, and blah blah blah..

after stopping at a diner for a burger, i told the cop the truth about where i was from and all that! we went to the police station, and the next day, father mc dermott came, and took me home. this was the 1st of many excursions like this, and when i got home, i got a 1st class ass whooping, which after a while, didnt do any good.

at school, i told the other kids of my little adventure, and for a minute, i was the star of the show. soon after a while, i was off again, this time made it to philadelphia, and got into a "runaway house" which in this day and age would be called a homeless shelter for runaway youth. and it was there i met my first love, joan shelley.

joan was from pennsauken, new jersey, 17, and a runaway like me. later on in life, i discovered that she thought i was her age!! i was just 12 or 13 when we met!!!! hahaha!! during the next few years, we seen each other every time i ran off and made it to philly. then one time, she wasnt around anymore, and i found out from some others that knew her that she ran off with some hells angels; that is what i was told at the time. somewhere down the line, i discovered where her parents lived, and went to pennsauken to her house to see if she was there. when i got to her house, her parents met me, and i seen that they had a really nice house. after a time of me telling them how we met and all that, he mom went into another room, and thats when her dad told me that they found joan had overdosed in new york city. woo!! i then told her dad how to get ahold of my folks, ( i gave him the standard bullshit story at the time, how the folks was dead, and i was all alone, blah blah blah..) then, after a while, father mc dermott came and got me. i had been gone for months and my hair was long!! my mother didnt even recognise me!! she turned me over to the state, telling the judge that i was an incorrigable runaway, and she was fed up!! so off to a foster home i went..... i eventually made it to california, but thats a nutter story!

hava action packed sunday!!! did ya turn ya clocks back an hour?? i did!!






QUOTE OF THE DAY:
I do not have a psychiatrist and I do not want one, for the simple reason that if he listened to me long enough, he might become disturbed.
- James Thurber

WEATHER:
Happy, TX
46�F
Partly Cloudy
Wind: SW at 10 mph
Humidity: 100%

SUNDAY COMIX!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!