Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

05:35 - Sunday, Jan. 08, 2006
aniversarie!!!
Today, January 8, 2006, marks the 71st birthday of the greatest entertainer that ever was. On this day in 1935, Elvis Aron Presley was born in Tupelo, Mississippi. On January 10, 1956 marks The 50th Anniversary of Elvis� recording of his first RCA single Heartbreak Hotel, which became his first national number one pop hit and his first gold record award winner. The single spent 8 weeks on the Billboard Top 100 chart at #1 and crossed genres, topping the country chart for 17 weeks and reaching #3 on the R&B chart. 2006 also marks the 50th anniversary of the two sided #1 hit single Dont be cruel/hound dog; Love Me Tender, originally named, The Reno Brothers, was Elvis' 1st Movie, and came out in 1956.
Here is some Quotes By Elvis


�Some people tap their feet, some people snap their fingers, and some people sway back and forth. I just sorta do �em all together, I guess.�
-Elvis in 1956, talking about his way of moving on stage.

"I ain't no saint, but I've tried never to do anything that would hurt my family or offend God...I figure all any kid needs is hope and the feeling he or she belongs. If I could do or say anything that would give some kid that feeling, I would believe I had contributed something to the world."
-Elvis commenting to a reporter, 1950's.

�Don�t criticize what you don�t understand, son. You never walked in that man�s shoes.�
-Elvis often used this adaptation of a well-known quotation.

�When I was a child, ladies and gentlemen, I was a dreamer. I read comic books, and I was the hero of the comic book. I saw movies, and I was the hero in the movie. So every dream I ever dreamed has come true a hundred times...I learned very early in life that: �Without a song, the day would never end; without a song, a man ain�t got a friend; without a song, the road would never bend - without a song.' So I keep singing a song. Goodnight. Thank you.�
-From his acceptance speech for the 1970 Ten Outstanding Young Men of the Nation Award. Given at a ceremony on January 16, 1971. (Elvis quotes from copyrighted material with lines from the song �Without a Song�.)

�We do two shows a night for five weeks. A lotta times we�ll go upstairs and sing until daylight - gospel songs. We grew up with it...It more or less puts your mind at ease. It does mine.�
-Talking about the informal jam sessions he and the band and entourage enjoy each night during the lengthy Vegas engagements. These happen upstairs in Elvis� suite at the Las Vegas Hilton as they all try to �wind down� from the excitement and energy of the live shows. Quote is from a 1972 taped interview used in MGM�s documentary Elvis on Tour.

�I�ve never gotten over what they call stagefright. I go through it every show. I�m pretty concerned, I�m pretty much thinking about the show. I never get completely comfortable with it, and I don�t let the people around me get comfortable with it, in that I remind them that it�s a new crowd out there, it�s a new audience, and they haven�t seen us before. So it�s got to be like the first time we go on.�
-From a 1972 taped interview used in MGM�s documentary Elvis on Tour.

�The first time that I appeared on stage, it scared me to death. I really didn�t know what all the yelling was about. I didn�t realize that my body was moving. It�s a natural thing to me. So to the manager backstage I said �What�d I do? What�d I do?� And he said �Whatever it is, go back and do it again�.�
-From a 1972 taped interview used in MGM�s documentary Elvis on Tour.

�Man, I was tame compared to what they do now. Are you kidding? I didn�t do anything but just jiggle.�
-From the press conference prior to his record-breaking Madison Square Garden shows in New York City, 1972.

�...the image is one thing and the human being is another...it�s very hard to live up to an image.�
-From the press conference prior to his record-breaking Madison Square Garden shows in New York City, 1972.

�A live concert to me is exciting because of all the electricity that is generated in the crowd and on stage. It�s my favorite part of the business - live concerts.�
-Elvis at a press conference prior to his 1973 television special, Elvis - Aloha from Hawaii, via Satellite.

� �Til we meet you again, may God bless you. Adios.�
-Said in 1977 at the end of a concert during his last tour.



Today is another Milestone in my life. 20 years ago today, i became sober. on this day in 1986, i was in the hospital, detoxing, and thought i was going to die. i made a pact with GOD, I sez, Oh, GOD if you let me live, if i get through this, i will never touch another drop to drink again. so far, so good!! one day at a time. It was ruff at first, the first year was hard, but i survived. i would not have been able to do it without GOD's help. Cause He kept telling me, go ahead, take a drink, and break your vow, and i will take your life. I heard that for 5 years! i went to AA meetings twice a day, 7 days a week, for 5 years. no matter where i was i went to a meeting. AA is not for everyone, and not everyone gets sober with AA. But if you have a problem, get real about it, and get to a meeting, and get sober.'
i dont have the best life on the planet, but its good enuff for me. and i aint suffering anymore. i have peace in my heart.

And now, im quitting smoking!! its not as desperate as quitting the booze was, but just the same, i hope im done with em.

its 5:30 am, lets see what the no-smoko meter says:
drumroll please......

One day, 17 hours, 30 minutes and 15 seconds. 34 cigarettes not smoked, saving $7.78. Life saved: 2 hours, 50 minutes.

well, its coffeetime....and patch time.... aint cravings just marvy?
wheeeeeee

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!