Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

05:24 - 02 May, 2006
yesterdays comments
i got 5 whole comments yesterday regarding yesterdays drivel. i was expecting more, as i try to give my slant on this 'hot button issue'. the winner for the best and most righteous comment goes to my pal, radiogurl ~~~~
"candy coated popcorn, peanuts and a prize! thats what you get in crackerjacks!"

no, THATS not what she said! that was a snidey attempt to get that jingle outta my head, which has been lingering in the cackles of my pea-brain for weeks now!
HERE is what she actually said:

There is so much more to this than the legality of making these folks citizens. It's about them staging a literal takeover of the southwestern US, making it a different country. There is a direct threat to our borders, and our President (Please excuse me if I gag when I refer to him with that title) is holding the fence and handing them rifles. Sorry - you know that I don't necessarily feel that way about all illegals, but at the moment I'm not feeling terribly charitable to the folks who entered illegally and promptly decided that they should own the place.
radiogurl | Homepage | 05.01.06 - 9:20 pm | #

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
and then, my pal, boxx9000 the worlds best teacher by far, the best on the planet, even, educated me to this true fact! ~~~~~

"candy coated popco--- FOCUS, MAN, FOCUS!!

"President Bush has quietly claimed the authority to disobey more than 750 laws enacted since he took office, asserting he has the power to set aside any statute set by Congress when it conflicts HIS interpretation of the Constitution" That was in today's news, but hardly *news* is it? Two wrongs do NOT make a right. Our own President is not setting a very good example on obeying the laws, is he? The laws he breaks are much bigger than that of the illegal status of an immigrant. Since HE can change any law he damn well pleases then I THINK he should change the law and make the ILLEGAL Immigrants......LEGAL! P.S. Just because I disagree with you does NOT mean I don't LOVE you Art! I still love you, I just disagree with you.
Boxx | Homepage | 05.01.06 - 11:06 am | #

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
amazing, aint it? I didnt know that at all, and i hang my head in shame, as i sit here and drink my columbian made coffee, and smoke my turkish blend cigarettes!!!
and boxx, no worries, sweetie, we is still pals, and i love ya too!! we may not always agree, and thats okey dokey hava nutter smokey! you have a god given right to express your opinion as do every single human being and cat on this planet has, it may not be the right opinion, but it is yours and no one can take it away from ya!! so dont worry, we is still pals!! ��

my pal, the infamous and everloving pie-rat! (apple pie, oh my!) has this to say!

I am second generation American on both sides of my family.
Poolagirl | Homepage | 05.01.06 - 9:20 am | #
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
and now, the star of the show, with her own opposing viewpoint we hear from our beloved teacher "pass your papers to the front, please!"

I'm a natural born citizen. (hehehehe) But, my grandparents weren't. On my Mom's side my grandma came from Italy and never became a citizen. She had to register as an *enemy alien* during WWII (because we were at war against Italy) On my Father's side (you know the story) Sailors who jumped ship from the Azores. Shit happens. They're HERE now and we should just make them citizens.
BoXx | Homepage | 05.01.06 - 8:35 am | #

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
and finally, someone who actually admits to agreeing with me, but wont admit to being Joachim Phoenix's mom! my pal, joiedv! (liz)

agree Art. People don't understand that you cannot throw all structure aside and then expect things to hold together. I am really afraid for the future of our country.
liz | Homepage | 05.01.06 - 8:34 am | #

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
this is a hot button issue, and this is something that should not be taken lightly, and if you disagree or have opposing viewpoints, there should be no name calling, yelling, or screaming. as we are a civilised society, we should discuss all viewpoints, and debate as to what should be done. what do you think, those of you who didnt comment yesterday? what would you do about this issue if you had the power to do something?
a 'guest worker program?' as congressman barney frank, (D-Massachusetts) said the other day, " a guest worker program? thats like inviting your neighbour into your home to spend the night, and then saying, 'would you wash the dishes, and sweep and mop the floor?'"

amnesty? that was done by President Reagan 20 years ago, look what happened!

something needs to be done, we cannot just throw up our hands and say, "oh well"! we need to unite as a people, and put upon our elected officials to come up with a strong solution that will unify the country and solve this problem, and put it to rest.

"A House Divided Cannot Stand"

Zell Miller invokes the memory, and words, of Abraham Lincoln.

"It's obvious to me that this country is rapidly dividing itself into two camps: the wimps and the warriors. The ones who want to argue and assess and appease, and the ones who want to carry this fight to our enemies and kill them before they kill us. And, in case you haven't figured it out, I proudly belong to the latter."

A monumental speech by Sen. Zell Miller, Democrat of Georgia, on the floor of the Senate, Mar. 30, 2004.

"the preceeding drivel was broght to you by kellogs, makers of fine body washes such as kellogs corn flakes, and rice krispies, and special K toofpaste! fight decay today with kellogs special K toofpaste, in your grocers freezer!

this has been a screengems/filmways presentation.





previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!