Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

06:18 - Friday, Nov. 17, 2006
history lesson!!!
1973: Nixon declares 'I am not a crook'

In a televised appearance before hundreds of Associated Press managing editors, President Richard Nixon told the nation today, �I am not a crook.� Nixon was referring to allegations concerning his involvement in the Watergate scandal.

The Yuma Daily Sun reported on Nixon�s statement. �President Nixon said Saturday night the American people �have got to know whether or not their President is a crook,� and declared, �Well, I�m not a crook. I earned everything I got.� He said once again that he is innocent of Watergate involvement, revealed new details about his personal finances, and vowed to strive for a restoration of confidence in his leadership,� reported the paper on November 18, 1973. �In proclaiming his innocence, the President said, �I�ve made my mistakes, but in all my years of public life I have never profited from public service. I have earned every cent. And in all my years of public life, I have never obstructed justice.��

Although Nixon continued to deny his involvement in Watergate, audio tapes containing conversations in the president�s office revealed otherwise. He resigned as president on August 8, 1974, not long after three articles of impeachment were passed.

from 1973

President Nixon told the nation
Saturday night, "I'm not a
crook," not in Watergate, in his
personal finances or in any of
the other charges of scandal
that ..confront his administration.

For more than an-hour in a
nationally televised appearance
before The Associated Press
Managing Editors Association,
Nixon denied wrongdoing and
said time and time again that
he is telling the truth/
And he vowed to work for as
long as he is physically able at
the job to which he was twice
elected, and said he will strive
"to restore,-,confidence in the
White House, and in the President"

Its funny how time changes things and opinions about people; back in '73, we all knew Nixon was a Crook, ole "Tricky Dick" was trying to cover his ass, and we all knew it; now that he is graveyard dead, and even in his later years, we regarded him as an "elder statesman" setting aside the facts that he committed impeachable offences; REAL impeachable offences, mind you; not the BULLSHIT that President Clinton was accused of.

In the bigger picture, Nixon did get us out of Viet-Nam, created the EPA, and the DEA, which was called the Federal Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs. when you look deep into the Nixon Administration, he was overall, a good president. not a decent one, but a good one.

I recall trying to sell a new newspaper back in 73, called the Village Voice, no one wanted it. the front page had a picture of Nixon on it!!!!

and that concludes our history lesson for today!!!


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!