Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

05:49 - Friday, Sept. 26, 2008
progress report for friday
good morning, mr. and mrs. america and all the ships at sea! (walter winchell)
yesterday was a productive day, as i went to 2 scheduled interviews and talked with the executive chefs for 2 major hotel chains, i didnt get hired on right away, but i left them both with a good feeling in my gut.

i went to this one restaurant in the market area and spoke to this lil bitty old lady, she must stand about 4 ft. tall, and must be pushing 150! but she was a delight to talk to, and we chatted like old friends for about an hour. i left her with my name and number, and she told me that if she needed me she will call me. although she was a delight to talk to, i dont think she will remember by today that we spoke.

back looking at craigslist, and the job service website; i found a job posting on craigslist, and emailed the guy, and within an hour i got a reply, he wanted me to send him a copy of my resume, which i did, and within 20 minutes my fone rang, it was him!! we chatted it up for about 10 minutes, and today we will meet and greet. i have good feelings about this job. it is production work, which i am good at, and its over in west seattle; "the job is in west seattle, is that ok?" sure thing i say, what difference does it make? so, later on in the day, i'll go there and see.

as for this morning, i will be talking with this guy here in the hostel to see if i can "work for my bed". last night here was free dinner night, which is held every sunday, tuesday and thursday. we had mexican food, and it was great! BUT, i overheard the cook talking, and he told the guy im gonna see this morning that he is going to quit, because this girl came into the kitchen while he was cooking, and wanted to cook something for herself, and he told her no, and she went to the manager to whine and bitch. now this is a small kitchen here, and the cook was preparing last nights dinner, which fed about 200-300 people, and his concern was that she would get in the way while he was cooking, and get hurt. but the manager, who dont know what the cook has to do to work in the kitchen, and prepare enough food for the masses, told him to allow her to go in and let her cook her stuff. which is wrong. so he quit. he told them that he will stay on until they find someone else, then, he said, that will be that for him. so, theres my opening. i will talk to this guy at 8 am and see what i can see.

yesterday, i went to the storage place down the street to see what the costs are for storage. a 5x5 is about 79 bux a month, or a 5x7 is 99 bux a month. he said that he has a 5x5 available, but if i need to go back this morning and rent it, watch, he will tell me that all he has is the 5x7. they have "day storage" here at the hostel, and if i cant get a deal today for "work for your bed" then, im going to have to spend the 100 on the storage bin. ugh.

so, heres what i hope will happen today, that i get to "work for my bed" which will involve housekeeping stuff, also, hope to also see if they will hire me on as a cook here; then go to this job interview for the west seattle job, and hopefully get hired on for that. the west seattle job is a monday thru friday job, so if i get hired on for that i'll most likely start monday, which leaves the weekend for me to either remain here if i can or do the mission thing. i hope that i can stay here and work for my bed, cause its gotten to the point where i can no longer afford to pay for my bed, or spend the money for a storage space. what i shudda done was after i got my money for the research, i shudda come straight up here, instead of wasting time in san francisco. oh well, im here now, and so i will trudge on and get busy. hopefully by the days end, i will be employed, and i will be able to "work for my bed".

in hoc signo vinces. In this sign you shall conquer.

so, thats that for today. hava swell friday. what say ye? comments at the bottom!!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!