Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

04:54 - Wednesday, Oct. 12, 2005
coffee & dreams

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Todays episode is 23% copy & paste, suited for taste, and rated PG, (pretty good)

Mr. Mc Coy has Indicted me for murder yesterday! Doom doom!

No, its just my imagination running away again�.

Yesterday, I killed my coffee pot!

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

All I did was give it a good thourough G.I. cleaning, which consisted of putting it in the sink, and introducing it to hot soapy water and bleach!

I have done this before, many times, and let it dry out, then by evening, it was ready to go.

Not last evening.

At the peak of rush hour, 5 p.m. I went to set up the coffeemaker for the next mornings activity, that is, to give me my coffee, no questions asked, when the cat wakes me up @ 3 a.m.
With a cat like creamsicle, who needs an alarm clock!

It was then I discovered that my trusty cruisinart had given up the ghost. Well, maybe its just comatose�. In any event, panic ensued! You see, I don�t have a car, I don�t drive, and wal mart is a 10 buck cab ride away. I had to do something. The busses stop running soon, as it was getting late!!! And I knew that at 3 am, when creamsicle the cat woke me up, there is NOPLACE nearby that�s open where I can get a cuppa coffee. This aint seattle!! (whine & whail)

So, I caught the bus to goto shopco.

Going to shopco is like going to k-mart. It�s a mile or so away from the house, and no one shops there. Everybuddy is at wal mart. And they have cars.

So, anyhoo, arriving at shopco, (sigh) I am in unfamiliar territory, and finding an employee here is just like at kmart. So with little time, as the busses will stop running soon, I hastily find the coffeepot section.

Now, as it is, I have been thoroughly spoiled as far as coffee goes. I like to grind & brew!! So, I went through the aisle that had the coffee makers. One aisle, one side. 30 ft. aisle. Sheesh!! So, seeing that I am not going to get a coffeemaker with a built in grinder, I get a coffee pot and a grinder. And I came home with this!!

The black and decker coffee wrecker!!! And melita grinder!!! Which I may add is very cool!!

Although it is an �8 cup� as in doll cups, the grinder works swell, and the coffeepot works even better!! I woke up this morning, (thanks creamsicle!) to a piping hot pot of john wayne style 120 octane hi-test rocket fuel!! So, for around 65 bucks, American, I got my morning coffee fix!!

After a few days, I will look at the cruisinart again, to see if it is in fact, graveyard dead! As I plugged it in last night, the clock was blinking 12:00, but none of the buttons were working.. so, maybe its comatose. In any event, yesterday evenings soiree into the wild unknown to achieve my goal was successful!! And I didn�t spend $$$$$$$ on cab-fare!!



weird dream dept.

As you may, or may not know, I dream in technicolour. In tonights episode, it was the mid 1970�s and I was driving a big truck with a guy who appeared to be a trainer. Now, the decade was wrong, as in reality, I didn�t start driving the big trucks until 1984. but any way, I was driving, and we were hauling a load of something to san diego from new york. And � way there, we stop in this big terminal, and I put the truck way in the back, and we go to get something to eat; bisquits and gravy, with eggs, and sausage and toast and coffee. Then, this other company driver comes by and we sit and talk, and my trainer is going over the paperwork with me, showing me how to fill forms out, etc. the dream in itself was real like in that I can actually smell the diesel and oil, and I was in my element there. Upstairs, was a lounge where I was told I can watch TV. So, na�ve lil me, I jauntily go upstairs to watch tv. Then after a while, I realize that something is amiss. And I go down to the garage area, where I see my stuff sitting on the side where the truck was, and the truck was gone!! But then I turn and look, and I see the truck leaving the terminal, and headed out, without me!!! I run like the wind, and catch the truck at the corner, stopped at the traffic light, and I hop up on the cab of the truck, and open the door, and say to my trainer, �you bass-tid!!! You was gonna leave me here, without no money, or anything???� and as I start to yank him out of the truck to give him a 1st class ass-whooping, creamsicle the cat wakes me up!!! I layed there in my bed this morning, confused at 1st, because I had to determine for a few moments that I was back in reality. And the dream was just that, a dream, and not reality, like I felt it was.

The 1st pot of coffee is finished, and I crave more!! Gad, this is tasty coffee!!! And its only 4:30 am!!

Only 6 more daze until I depart on the Amtrak and goto:

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

In udder news��.

Whip out your tractor and your pig slop, because it's Farmer's Day! Yes, it's time to dance around in your overalls, hug a cat, plow a field and tip over the outhouse while your sister is in there washing her hair. But seriously, the farm industry has been decimated by inflation and technology, and plenty of our brothers and sisters in the Midwest have to auction off their land everyday just so they can feed their families. Or that's what we heard from John Cougar Mellencamp when we watched Farm Aid a couple years ago.
Anyway, find a man in a straw hat sitting under a silo, give him a hug, and thank him for providing this country with, um, corn or something.
And on this date in 2001 President George W. Bush requested an episode of "America's Most Wanted" to feature the 22 most wanted terrorists in the country. In memoriam of this event, take a ride on the New York City Subway system today, reflect on how well that plan worked and embrace the feeling of security that washes over you.

Todays birthdays:
1975: marion jones (30)
1970: kirk Cameron (35)
1969: martie seidel (36)
1968: hugh jackman (37)
1950: susan anton (55)
1947: chris Wallace (58)
1935: luciano Pavarotti (70)
1932: dick Gregory (73)
Im sure theres a few that I left out, but oh well!!



Well, its time to make some more coffee, and a nutritious breakfast, and tehn watch imus in the morning on msnbc!!
Image hosted by Photobucket.comImage hosted by Photobucket.comImage hosted by Photobucket.comImage hosted by Photobucket.com


This has been a screengems/filmways presentation!


QUOTE OF THE DAY:
"When you encounter seemingly good advice that contradicts other seemingly good advice, ignore them both."
- Al Franken
WORD OF THE DAY:
gewgaw G(Y)OO-gaw, noun:
A showy trifle; a trinket; a bauble.
Bidders paid hundreds of thousands of dollars for worthless gewgaws--fake pearls, ashtrays, golf clubs--merely, one supposes, because they were touched by the hand of this celebrity of celebrities.
--Lawrence M. Friedman, The Horizontal Society
At least, you're tempted until you discover that the price of this gewgaw is $175.
--Walter Shapiro, "Earn exciting prizes from the Republicans!" USA Today, March 27, 2002
Walk into almost any department store, and there it is -- along with mounds of other gimmicky gadgets and garish gewgaws that (no offense, Vanna) the world can live without.
--James A. Russell, "What the World Needs Now . . . Is Not Another Gimmicky Gadget or Worthless Doohickey," St. Louis Post-Dispatch, September 9, 1995
CAT OF THE DAY:

THE FUNNIES:


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!