Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

04:00 - 12 June, 2006
win-doze vista, piss-ta, mister!!!

The adventures of windows vista �
Beta 2 evaluation copy.
Build 5384


A 12 hour affair. Yes, it took me 12 hours. Because I am a dumb ass sometimes.
The directions call for burning a copy of the windows vista unto a dvd. So, I got out the cigarette lighter and started burning. I burned 4 dvd�s before I realized something was wrong.

Turns out that the tenant that also has a computer here, and is one of those who should not even touch one is proficient in burning cd�s and dvd�s. he came over and seen me outside burning dvd�s, and told me that I should put the lighter away. He then proceeded to teach me how to properly burn a dvd. Imagine that!!!

I tole him that something is wrong, that the lil green blinking light is not blinking. Seems that I had to goto the sony website since I have a sony dvd, and download and install a firmware update for the friggen thing. AND when im burning a dvd, to select a destination drive. Seems I was burning to the hard drive. DUHHHH!!!!!!

Why do they call it burning? Why cant they just call it copying? Its confusing sometimes, keeping up with all the puter terminology.

Well, folks, I was successful in burning a copy of windows vista onto a dvd!! As required by Microsoft�s instruction. Next step in this adventure is to install the beast unto the computer.

Now, mind you this is a beta copy. An evaluation version, good until june of 2007. and could be full of bugs, cockroaches, flying squirrels and snakes. And part of the experience of using this FREE copy is to report to the lord and master Microsoft on occasion, the operating idiosyncrasies (notice the word �crazies� in idiosyncrasies) of this evaluation copy. I guess they are too lazy to do this themselves. But, I digress�.

So now, I install the dvd, and let er rip. No, I mean run. Seems that �rip� is another puter term. So its in there, installing. I decide the best course of action is an upgrade, since I have programmes and documents I cant lose right about now.

So, while its going, im cooking breakfast.





Now I realize as I eat the yummy breakfast pictured above, that this is gonna take a while. So I sit and wait.

2 hours later, its done!! Or so I believe. Lesson 1. when installing a new operating system, DO NOT remove the disk until its fully installed!!! The big hint is when your desktop is on the puter screen!!!

I rebooted. Lesson 2. this action is not necessary. The boot up screen that followed contained a choice to roll back to the previous operating system, and you have 1.2 seconds to choose!! The next screen that followed was a message.

�the upgrade was not successful. Rolling back to previous operating system. Do not shut off your computer at this time.�

An hour later, this was still on the screen. Aw piss on this!! Im shutting this down!! So I did. And lo and behold, windows XP pro came back up! So now, its time to try this again.

So, after the preliminaries, I decide to let it run, and I took my morning nap.

Round about noon, I woke up, and ran over here, to look!! Its still on the final part, �completing upgrade� so, I decide to get a cuppa coffee, and find a baseball game on tee vee.

Now, im getting agitated. And impatient!! Its been 3 innings, and still says �completing upgrade�!! I figger its stuck!!! So, I shut it down, and restart!! Now, that was a mistake. Because I got that blue screen that said the upgrade was not successful, blah blah blah!!!

So, the 3rd time the charm? Well, this time, I just let it run, and took my afternoon nap!!! When I woke up from that, it says �completing upgrade� and it was then that I noticed the bar alomgside the bottom of the screen was moving ever so slowly. Its 4:30 pm by this time, folks!!!! I�d been at this for 12 hours!!! Eeeekk!! So, something in my pee brain tole me to leave it alone. And I did. I watched the news, and heated up some left over pizza, done the dishes, and fed the cat. And watched an episode of Hawaii five-o!!! love that five o music!!! Wheeeeeeeee!!!

Ok, while watching my boyhood hero, Mc garrett, I came to a realization here. Do you watch CSI Miami? Horatio? Steve Mc garrett? Notice the similarities there with the two characters? They talk the same, walk the same, act the same!!! Yes they do!!! Seems that David Caruso took lessons from Jack Lord!! And ya know, they almost LOOK the same too!!!

So, now, I run over here, and jump up and down with glee, like a lil schoolgirl, complete with squeal!!! Theres a blue screen with my name on it and a pic of a flower!! It says �welcome, art� and on the bottom right corner, theres a strange looking icon, that�s shaped inna square, so I click that! Oops!! Now the screen says that windows is shutting down!!!! But wait, theres more!! After the shutdown, I turned the puter right back on, and there was after the bootup, that blue screen with �welcome, art, and the flower!! So, I clicked on th lil flower, and lo, and behold!! Theres my desktop!! And a sleek new layout, and on the bottom right corner, there is says to remind me, �windows vista � beta 2, evaluation copy build 5384.

Success!! I took out the DVD, sice I felt that really this time it was ok to do so. And I went exploring!! Theres icons in the control panel that I have no idea what their function is. And so I decided to look at diaryland, and read my comments, and read how you guys are doing. Oh, to boxx, in innernet exploder 7 which I have now here on vista, I cannot open your page, innernet exploder 7 does not know how to open your page. Because its locked!! But, never fear, it goes just fine using firefox!

So, I played a lil pogo, and done some exploring, and now, for now, im happy. For now. Im using Microsoft office to write this. And now im ready to post.

Doyle and Clady the cleaner will be here later on this morning to clean out the empty apartment. And to talk with this one thick head tenant that has a mini zoo in his apartment, but that�s a whole nutter story. Maybe tomorrow I will tell it!! As for now, its almost 4 am, and im gonna go sit outside and bask in the silence and drink some coffee and smoke a cigarette.

Life is swell!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!