Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

05:19 - 17 June, 2006
2 years!!!

The above is a photobucket picturerama loop!
I hope it shows up! I dunno why photobucket don�t have specific coding for diaryland. Seems no one does! And dland been around since 1998? Ugh.
Well, we got the vacant apt. looking like new! New bed, frsh paint, new carpet. I hope that the new tenant isn�t gonna be a pain in the ass. We will see.
I failed to mention last Saturday that the farmers market started up in wino park last week!!! Yay!!!
One of the routines that I established last year was that I got there at 7 am or so, and got me a nice cuppa coffee, and enjoyed the scenery in the park, without the idiots that usually inhabit the park. It really is a nice park, and has lots of potential. But the city fathers have no backbone to clean it up.
If I had the money, I would run for mayor here. And run all the friggen tramps outta town, and shut down the mission and shelter by not renewing their operating licences. Other cities have done it. Now, mind you, I am not against homeless people, but these people here that claim to be homeless, they are not, really. They are illegal immigrants, drug dealers, and criminals. And they need to be run off. They do not define the very definition of being �homeless�. But, all in all, its not as bad here, as it is in other cities.
Guess what!! I have been here in slc for two years!!! I don�t recall the exact date I got into town, but I know I spent 2 weeks at the mission, and a few days in the shelter before I arrived and moved into the rio grande hotel. I had absolutely nothing but the clothes on my back, as I done laundry the olde fashioned way: �when the clothes get fil-fee, goto the mission, peel off the fil-fee clothes, take a shower, and get fresh clean clothes!!� that was the deal. That way, I didn�t run around town carrying junk. When I had a car, it was different; I kept clothes in the trunk, and washed them as needed.
So, around the 3rd of july, 2 years ago, I moved into the hotel. My 1st impression of doyle the manager was that he is an asshole, and at 1st I had very little contact with him. I think he thought I was a lil strange myself, cause after I finished the paperwork, got my keys and stuff, I asked him the standard question I asked everywhere when I landed inna place: �how long can I stay here?� and he looked at me like I was retarded, and said, as long as I payed my rent I can stay.
So, I got into my new room, and layed down on the bed and looked up at the ceiling. I was only gonna stay a month or so, if that, if things didn�t work out. I was already planning to go back up to seattle, but I decided to give this a sporting chance.
Since my rent was paid, and I realized that I was actually going to be waking up before the coffeeshops open up, and so I decided to hunt down and find the wal mart to get a coffeepot. That was 1st on the agenda. I had lotsa spending cash, and my head was spinning, so I took a cab to walmart. 5 bucks!! Wheee!!!
So, im in walmart, head spinning, looking for coffeepots. Got one, then filters, then coffee. Then I found myself at the electronics section. I got a 13 inch tee vee, and some socks. I didn�t bother with the clothes cause on Mondays Wednesday and Friday, I can get clothes at the mission free!!! Food at the time was outta the question too, as the mission fed at 6 am and 7 pm everyday.
I got back to the hotel, and set up the tee vee, and plugged the coax into the wall, thinking that I was gonna get cable tee vee!!!! Hahahhahaaaa!!!! Seeing that this wasn�t the case, I went to the office and asked doyle about cable. He told me the building wasn�t wired for cable, but I can get a satellite dish.
At this point, I was going to the library for the puter access, and I decided that I need a cheap puter. I found one, and then by this point, I had ordered a fone and innernet service from qwest. I got the dial up at first, then later on discovered the joys of having my own DSL. Then chaosdaily introduced me to diaryland.
I now have more junk than the law allows a regular tramp, a wonderful home, a swell job, a damn good boss, plenty of food and clothes, and a lovely cat!!!! All the things I wanted and im self sufficient and a real member of society. I never thought that this would be the place for me, but I always said that if I found a place with a good job, and cheep rent, and bug free, that I would stay. And I been here two years!!!!
Be thankful for what you have in life, and be glad you never had to worry about where you are going to sleep tonight, and is it safe, and if you are going to eat, and if you do, is the food safe to eat, or will ya get sick?! I don�t have those worrys anymore.



  

  

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!