Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

07:58 - Thursday, Aug. 21, 2008
day 4 of the study!
howdee lurkers and note writers!
today is day 4 of the study, and i been up since 5:30 am. today, i have a blood pressure monitor attched and will be attached for the next 24 hours. its supposed to take my blood pressure every 1/2 hour or so.
heres a pic of the blood pressure monitor:

the blue tip up top has a hose attached to the cuff. i dont have to do anything to it, just wear it, its going off now as i type. my bp now is at 120/79 which is normal!

waking up early, i found the night nurse sound asleep! shhhh! dont tell no one! hehe! i know what its like to work graveyard alone like that, you gonna fall asleep! yesterday, the cute dietitition gave me a slew of coffee packets, de-caf of course, so i can have some coffee. surprizing enough, the lack of caffene has not bothered me like it should. the real issue will be after this week is over and i get the patch, and NO MORE SMOKING!!! can i do it!! I BETTER!!! i need the money!! heh!
so, anyhoo, waking up early, and NOT being able to smoke right from the get go is a lil difficult, i dont start smoking until 8 am, and then every 45 minutes., the nurse asked me if i was tired of smoking, she dont smoke, so she dont know. i told her it dont bother me, i smoke like a chimney, and that i been know to smoke a 1/2 a pack inna hour, and she sez, hmmm, thats 10 cigarettes, and i sez, yea, that is.
the nurse i have seems to be a miss polly purebread. not that shes stupid, but, she is a by the book, no nonsense, its hard to describe, really. monotone talking, almost like a stepford wife. almost. but bernadette is all right. she is my regular day nurse, and is about as straight laced as you can get. yesterday, she was assisting on another study, and i had a mexican nurse that seemed a bit skiddish, like she didnt wanna handle the cigarettes. oh well. and the swing shift nurse, well, shes a lil loose, and i can tell that she is loads of fun, she likes baseball, and is an avid giants fan. i wouldnt mind going a few rounds with her! hehe!

well, its almost 8 am, and that means its time to smoke!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!